Enhance User File Management So They Are Truly Backed Up
One of the spin off benefits from the Synchronise feature of Logos 4 is that we now have the current version of our personal data secured on a server in the cloud. I appreciate that this has raised a set of issues about whether or not a user would want this and also what type of data can now be stored for legal reasons but for many users this could become a real benefit.
As things stand the existing implementation has limited benefits as a backup system because there is a single restore option which is restore all to last synchronise.
I would like to suggest that storing of Notes and other files be changed as follows to allow a more granular restore:
Retain the last two versions of any Note, Clipping, etc. and allow the user to either restore one of the previous generations of the Note, Clipping, etc. either to a new Note, Clipping, etc. or to replace the current.
When a Note, Clipping, etc. is deleted this should not be a physical deletion but the data should be marked for deletion at a later date, say 30 days after the logical delete, the user should then be given an option to recover deleted files.
David Braak commented
I agree. I accidently deleted all my notes on Ephesians this morning and cannot find any way to recover them. Since notes are synced on your server, it would great if one could recover deleted files for a limited period of time.
Richard Poe commented
Something along this line should be considered! It is too easy to delete files, data bases or what ever they may be, without any warning message!